Recent Stuff I’ve Found in Books

Biblioklept

20130916-172934.jpg

So this Friday, I bought two enormous fat thick Penguin volumes of Jorge Luis Borges in utterly pristine condition (fictions and non-). I own other books that cover some of the material here, but 1100+ pages of JLB is hard to pass up (especially used, especially when I have store credit).

And then today, I was made privy to this lovely Flickr set, “Things found in books,” and thought I’d play along.

So back to Borges: I was somewhat touched by this note (above) I found in the nonfiction collection: Mom sends the book to her son so he “may understand it,” “this most difficult book”; mom also reports it “very hard to read” and appends a frowny face.

20130916-172940.jpg

Maybe a week or two before, I found this lovely little wisp of paper:

20130916-172950

In Vlad Nabokov’s Lectures on Don Quixote:

20130916-172955.jpg

Which reminded me of this James Joyce clipping—not so recent…

View original post 244 more words

Leave a Reply

